Press Releases

PA Cyber clubs let students pursue interests, get engaged

Aug 31, 2017

Creating computer programs, improving on a foreign language, or meeting other book lovers are just a few of the opportunities PA Cyber students can have by joining a club.

Students are encouraged to follow their passions and get involved with one of the many non-academic clubs available, from arts and culture to topics focused on making, learning or competing.

Finding a club is a great way for students to get engaged, meet new friends with common interests and have some fun, said Jane Camp, supervisor of student events.

"Our extracurricular clubs and MakeIt workshops at PA Cyber provide our students with a wonderful opportunity to meet other students, get involved, learn more about topics that interest them, and share the PA Cyber experience with their peers," Camp said.

This school year, the elementary club program has expanded to include Around the World with Foreign Language, Bookworm Buddies, and Ready, Set, Go.

Middle School students have two new clubs: Connect Jr. Bible Club and Art Club.

Parents and students can expect an email with a full listing of clubs by grade level, a description of each club, and the link to the online Club Registration Form. The same email will be sent weekly through the month of September and then periodically, at key times, throughout the school year.

Information on clubs can also be found in the Family Link site in the folder titled, "PA Cyber Clubs."

Some quick facts:

• Students use the online registration form to register for a club; the list of clubs will appear AFTER they enter their grade level: https://form.jotform.com/72075080743151

• High school students may join up to two clubs and must have a 2.5 GPA or above and on pace to join a club

• Middle school students may join a language club—French, German or Spanish—and do not need to be enrolled in a language to participate in the club.

• National Honor Society, Jr. National Honor Society, and Student Council are not listed on the Club Registration form. These clubs require a nomination or recommendation from a PA Cyber staff member.

High School Clubs

If you do well academically-2.5 Grade Point Average or above and on pace with school work, you are eligible to join one or two of our club offerings.

Art Club- offers students an opportunity to share their work with fellow students, learn new techniques they can incorporate into their artwork, and gain knowledge of the world of art including history and career paths.

Book of the Month Club-students will have the opportunity to nurture and cultivate their love of reading through discussion board threads, participation in live online classroom discussions with their advisors, peers, and field trips.

Chess Club-The chess club is designed for students at any level who want to gain an understanding on how to better their chess game. The course will start from the basics, and quickly advance through some of the more advanced strategies in the game of chess. Students will meet twice a month in a session through collaborate, this involves either a lesson, or a session where they will log in together with the teacher onto an online site where they can receive ratings for playing each other in single games, and chess tournaments.

Connect Bible Club-The Connect Bible Club is a non-denominational club that allows our students to explore their faith with other likeminded students. This student-led club allows students to connect together in prayer, worship, and fellowship with all who attend. There is no requirement for students to participate, just a willingness to hear the Word of God and fellowship with all who choose to attend.

Debate Club- designed to develop solid thinking skills, students will examine why they believe what they believe, and learn to locate the values, worldview & assumptions behind positions expressed by others. Debate club members will be encouraged to participate in competitions within the club and externally with other debate clubs across the commonwealth.

DECA-designed to develop our future leaders in the fields of Marketing, Management and Entrepreneurship, club activities will focus on developing leadership abilities, presentation skills and career job skills through collaborative projects. DECA members will be invited to participate in competitive events, conferences, and online challenges; and will also network with business professionals and other students who wish to pursue management or marketing careers.

Equestrian Club –This club is for the horse enthusiasts that wants to share and grow their knowledge and understanding of horses with one another. Students will have the opportunity to engage with their peers through regular online meetings, collaborate in discussion boards, and meet face to face on field trips.

French Club-students will be exposed to the French world around them here in the US, France, and other francophone countries. Regular online meetings will facilitate the sharing of love for the French language and culture both by students and knowledgeable faculty. Activities include listening to French music, watching French videos, exploring French art and literature, project creation based on cultural themes, cuisine exploration and conversational skills. The club is open to all middle school and high school students, with or without previous French exposure.

German Club-open to any middle and high school student who is interested in the German language or German speaking cultures, it is not necessary for students to be enrolled in a German course in order to be a member of the club. Students will practice basic conversations, read stories, listen to and sing all types of music, play games, and chat with virtual guests from German-speaking countries.

Global Education Club-The purpose of this club is to bring an understanding of the global community as well as world travel to the students of PA Cyber. Topics of discussion will include culture, history, and travel. In two year cycles, students will have the opportunity to participate in an educational tour at a global destination. Meetings and activities will prepare students for this trip by familiarizing them with the geography, culture, etc. of the area traveled to, but participation in the trip is not required to be a member of the Global Education Club.

GSA-Gay Straight Alliance-to create a more accepting environment for all people, to ensure that every member of the school community is valued and respected, regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression. This is accomplished through education, support, social action, and advocacy. GSA believes that schools can be truly safe only when every student is assured access to an education without fear or shame. The GSA welcomes lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender persons, questioning youth, children of LGBT parents, allies, and others. The label is less important than the intention to create a welcoming, inclusive, diverse community for everyone.

History Club-No area of history is off-limits as club member will explore the major historical accounts that profoundly affected the world we live in, as well as, the local histories that are in our own communities. Club members should expect to participate in both synchronous and asynchronous learning opportunities, fund-raising, field trips, competitions, and more. This is a club specifically designed for students who want to do more than just read about history in their textbooks. History club members will work from the perspective of "hands-on" history, walking in the footsteps of those from the past, and developing an appreciation for the living history all around us.

Maker Club –Join the MAKER movement and discuss, share, and collaborate with other students to learn how to integrate and build technology to enhance daily life, help others or merely add some creativity to their own "Do It Yourself" projects. Topics include, but are not limited to robotics, 3D printing, code and software, traditional arts and crafts, current technological developments, microcontrollers and single-board computers (Raspberry Pi) plus so much more! BYOT (Bring Your Own Talent) and enthusiasm!

Newspaper Club-in an effort to report and publish PA Cyber news and events, members will plan for effectively providing the school community with fact-based news, information and opinions. The PA Cyber Press strives to publish monthly therefore active participation and meeting attendance is required.

Photography Club- knowledgeable faculty advisors and student members will share their talents, knowledge, and love of photography through regular online meetings, chat rooms and photo-sharing websites. Members will be encouraged to grow in photographic competency, to learn about the history, techniques and art of still photography and to share their talents with others in their school and individuals within their home communities.

Science Club-exploring new discoveries, technologies, and applications, students will have the opportunity to interface directly with professional researchers in science and engineering fields. Club activities will bridge the gap between the science and engineering that students learn from coursework and books and will allow them to see these fields "come alive" through live monthly chats with prominent Los Alamos National Laboratory scientific staff working in research and applied sciences.

Spanish Club- is open to any middle school and high school students that are interested in learning Spanish or learning about Spanish cultures. Club members will learn about the different Spanish speaking countries, cultures, foods, dances, art, holidays and much more. We will plan some virtual field trips and also, some live field trips across the state.

HOW DO I JOIN? It's easy! Simply click on the link to the online club registration form, complete the form, and click SUBMIT. This form is also found in the Family Link site of BUZZ. After confirming that you are in good academic standing, we will forward your form to the club advisor who will then email you with important club information.
Club Registration Form

CLUB Advisors 2017-18

National Honor Society Co- Advisor Mary Crapis mary.crapis@pacyber.org ext.7899
Co -Advisor Alesha Yaria Alesha.yaria@pacyber.org ext. 7724
Jr. National Honor Society Co-Advisor Mary Crapis mary.crapis@pacyber.org ext. 7899
Co-Advisor Alesha Yaria Alesha.yaria@pacyber.org ext. 7724
Impact Advisor Richard Russell Richard.russell@pacyber.org ext.7633
Peer to Peer Tutoring Co-Advisor Lauren Graham lauren.graham lauren.graham@pacyber.org ext. 7972
Co-Advisor Lindsey Walters lindsey.walters@pacyber.org ext. 5743
Student Council Advisor Nicole Davis nicole.davis@pacyber.org

Non-Academic Clubs
9th-12th Grade Students
Students must be in good academic standing for membership (2.5 GPA or above and on pace)

Art Club Co- Advisor- Amy O'Brien amy.obrien@pacyber.org ext. 7727
Co-Advisor Amie Waddell amie.waddell@pacyber.org ext. 8051
Bible Club Co-Advisor Rachael Cipolla Rachael.cipolla@pacyber.org ext. 9353
Co Advisor Thomas Barnes Thomas.barnes@pacyber.org ext.9363
Book of the Month Club Advisor Erik Scuilli erik.scuilli@pacyber.org ext. 7970
Chess Club Advisor Bryan Davidson bryan.davidson@pacyber.org ext. 7635
Debate Club Co-Advisor Douglas Fausti douglas.fausti@pacyber.org ext.8031
Co-Advisor Ben Gelzheiser benjamin.gelzheiser@pacyber.org ext.9366

DECA- Co-Advisor Whitney Conjeski whitney.conjeski@pacyber.org ext. 7713
Co-Advisor Jennifer Liptak jennifer.liptak@pacyber.org ext.7758
Equestrian Club Advisor Mike Makowiecki mike.makowiecki@pacyber.org ext. 7903

French Club Advisor Rachel Klemencic Rachel.klemencic@pacyber.org

German Club Advisor Dr. Noelle Andrie Noelle.andrie@pacyber.org

Global Education Club Co-Advisor Katie Batting katie.batting@pacyber.org ext.7951
Co-Advisor Michelle Rodgers michelle.rodgers@pacyber.org ext.7642
GSA Advisor Carrie Miller carrie.miller@pacyber.org ext.7735

History Club Co-Advisor Chad Morrow chad.morrow@pacyber.org ext. 9356
Co-Advisor Beth Lichtenwalner mary.lichtenwalner@pacyber.org ext. 0641
Maker Club Co-Advisor Andrew Balko Andrew.balko@pacyber.org ext. 9358
Co-Advisor JoAnna Taylor joanna.taylor@pacyber.org ext. 8046
Newspaper Club- Co-Advisor Karlee Hoffman karlee.hoffman@pacyber.org ext. 9337
Co-Advisor Brooke Kosar brooke.kosar@pacyber.org ext 9343
Photography Club Co-Advisor Richard Ball Richard.ball@pacyber.org ext.7835
Co-Advisor Stephanie Mangan Stephanie.mangan@pacyber.org ext. 7747
Science Club Advisor Erin Butler erin.butler@pacyber.org
Spanish Club Advisor Kim Refosco Kimberly.refosco@pacyber.org

Middle School Club Advisors
6th, 7th & 8th Grades
Please note that middle school students may also join a foreign language club (French, German & Spanish)
Adventures in Reading Advisor Christina Swiontek Christina.swiontek@pacyber.org ext. 1200
Art Club Advisor Brian Boothby brian.boothby@pacyber.org ext 7858
Bible Club Co-Advisor Janine Coble Janine.coble@pacyber.org ext 0615
Co-Advisor Elya Shaheen elya.shaheen@pacyber.org ext.0612
Science Investigators Advisor Doug Pavkovich douglas.pavkovich@pacyber.org ext.7680

Elementary Club Advisors
Grades K-5
Bookworm Buddies 3-5 Co-Advisor Kim Collins kimberly.collins@pacyber.org ext. 7690
Co-Advisor Danielle Summerville Danielle.summerville@pacyber.org ext.7677
Coding I 1&2 Co-Advisor Mandy Burket mandy.burket@pacyber.org ext. 9015
Co-Advisor Justin Lindner Justin.lindner@pacyber.org ext.7689
Coding II 3-5 Co-Advisor Beth Narad beth.narad@pacyber.org ext. 7669
Co-Advisor Mark Narad mark.narad@pacyber.org ext. 7827
Hands on Science K-2 Advisor Jordan Canavesi jordan.canavesi@pacyber.org
Hands on Science 3-5 Advisor Susan Imbriale susan.imbriale@pacyber.org ext. 7793
Ready, Set, Go Club K-2 Advisor Brenden Griffey Brenden.griffey@pacyber.org ext. 7709
Ready, Set, Go Club 3-5 Advisor open
Foreign Language Club K-5 Advisor Debra Kress debra.kress@pacyber.org ext. 8034

Media Contact

Casie Colalella / casie.colalella@pacyber.org

About PA Cyber

Serving students in kindergarten through 12th grade, the Pennsylvania Cyber Charter School (PA Cyber) is one of the largest, most experienced, and most successful online public schools in the nation. PA Cyber's online learning environments, personalized instructional methods, and choices of curricula connect Pennsylvania students and their families with state-certified and highly-qualified teachers, and rich academic content that is aligned to state standards. Founded in 2000, PA Cyber is headquartered in Midland (Beaver County) and maintains a network of support offices throughout the state. As a public school, PA Cyber is open for enrollment by any school-age child residing in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, and does not charge tuition to students or families.