Press Releases

PA Cyber celebrates honor society inductees

Dec 12, 2018

More than 100 students take the NHS and NJHS pledge

HARRISBURG (Dec. 11, 2018) – Seventeen PA Cyber students were inducted into the National Honor Society this evening, capping off six ceremonies across the commonwealth in which a total of 140 students pledged their oaths and officially joined the ranks of the nation's most academically elite members of the NHS and National Junior Honor Society.

At ceremonies in Harrisburg, King of Prussia and Pittsburgh, high school students whose grade point averages are above 90 percent and who demonstrate excellence in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership, and character pledged to uphold the organization's pillars. Junior high students had to meet the same criteria, as well as demonstrate citizenship, in order to qualify for NJHS.

Co-advisors of the school's branches of the organizations, Mary Crapis and Alesha Yaria, said it was important to the school that each event was memorable for the inductees.

"They worked very hard for this honor," Crapis said, "and that's why Alesha and I paid attention to the details – the roses, the pomp and ceremony, the food and drink. We wanted them to treasure it and remember it."

Proud families attended the ceremonies, in which members of the school's administrative branch and previously inducted students addressed the inductees, lauding them for their achievements and encouraging them to set examples and mentor younger students.

PA Cyber CEO, Brian Hayden, commended parents for their role in the students' success.

"Earning A's is great," he said, "but the characteristics that truly make these students stand out are nurtured at home and, as their guiding forces, you are providing them with a strong foundation."

Acknowledging that PA Cyber is a school of choice, he thanked the parents for entrusting their children's education in the school and pledged to continue living up to their high expectations.

Other administrators, including deputy chief academic officer, Jennifer Shoaf, high school principal, Sean Snowden, and middle school principal, Dr. Jerald Barris, also spoke and presented certificates to the inductees.

Peer speakers guided new inductees through the organizations' principles, which are rooted in creating enthusiasm for scholarships, stimulating a desire to serve the community, promoting leadership, and developing character.

Barris left students with the inspiring quote: "Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life."

The National Association of Secondary School Principals officially established NHS in 1921, and the NJHS eight years later, in Pittsburgh.

National Honor Society inductees (listed alphabetically by hometown):
Alexandra Baine, Allison Park; Madison Salvio, Apollo; Cecil Decker, Athens; Ann-Marie Jerome, Beaver Falls; Philip Spann, Beaver Falls; Aiden Sheikh, Bethlehem; Madison Eleanor Frantz, Blakeslee; Sarah Seader, Brownsville; Audrey Hillard, Butler; Macayla Barnhart, Butler; Jordan Scott, Conneautville; Kaitlyn Worgan, Donora; Muhammad Abdul Wadud, Easton; Keilah Marie Gindele, Eighty Four; Kelly Mershimer, Ellwood City; Skyler Rickman, Ellwood City; Ethan Puscher, Erie; Kitana Graham, Erie

Dallas Maguire, Fairless Hills; Grace Bajus, Gibsonia; Avery Diehl, Green Lane; Katherine Yost, Hanover; Anne Castellano, Harrisburg; Mary Shinner, Harrisburg; Noah D. Butler, Harrison City; Henry Li, Hellertown; Samuel Barna, Hershey; Abby Tomayko, Indiana; John Meneghini, Jeannette; RayAnne Rosenbaum, Johnstown; Ki'Azhae Lawrence, Kittanning; Elizabeth Markley, Lancaster; Chloe Bischof, Lock Haven; Marissa Pallanti, Macungie; Leah Beben, Madisonburg; Kaden Rightenour, Martinsburg; Megan Brenot, Meadville; Bodie DuBreucq, Monessen; Jake Gorman, Monongahela; Jennifer Soika, Nazareth; John Cullen, New Albany; Kaylee Cotter, New Castle; Matthew Roberts, Normallville; Benjamin Franklin D. Tomasino, North Huntingdon; Jacklynn Weaver, Northern Cambria; Hannah Plowman, Oil City; Amani Ahmad, Philadelphia; Balsam Mohammad, Philadelphia; Jorden Shockley, Philadelphia

Lillian Saoud, Philadelphia; Siham Aziz, Philadelphia; Walid Abdelhamid, Philadelphia; Yasmine Mariska Khelil Cherfi, Philadelphia; Ghina Alrfai, Pipersville; Daphne Creamer, Pittsburgh; Gianna Abbott, Pittsburgh; Kiera Whitehouse, Pittsburgh; Nia Frazier, Pittsburgh; Sarah Brandon, Prospect; Alivia Devlin, Reading; Dareld Reynolds, Republic; Carter Wynn, Richfield; Emily Pietrobono, Robesonia; Claire Coury, Saltsburg; Noah Lance, Scranton; Britni Harrington, Shenandoah; Jeffrey Russell, Shippensburg; Madelyn Ford, Sinking Spring; Sarah Kelly, Slatington; Zoey Phillips, Spring Grove; Destiny Vanada, Spring Mills; Andrew Zimmerman, Stevens; Brittany Webster, Stroudsburg; Kevin Butters, Troy; Wyatt Bateman, York

National Junior Honor Society inductees (listed alphabetically by hometown):
Ilaina Halbig, Abington; Jared Astorino, Ambridge; Ava Culp, Avonmore; Austin Richardson, Bloomsburg; Alexandra Miranda, Butler; Haeli Stern, Center Valley; Brenna Genovese, Chalk Hill; Sydney Rhoads, Columbia; Kaylie A. Daniels, Connellsville; Andrew Smith, Derry; Lyla Campbell, Doylestown; Stephen O. Altomari, Jr., Dresher; Cassidy Foriska, Erie; Laura E. Smith, Erie; Tressa Clark, Export; Kimberly Antoinette Sauers, Gibsonia; Dylan Franks, Greenock; Parker Franks, Greenock; Marayna Sanders, Grove City; Micah Ocasio, Halifax; Madeline Rose Castellano, Harrisburg; Josie August Sutter, Highspire; Dyson Horton, Hollidaysburg; Elizabeth Hampsey, Irvine; Heaven Lee Zawodniak, Iselin; Grace Metz, Jennerstown; Isaac Metz, Jennerstown; Kaylie Mrosko, Lemont Furnace; Ashley McClintock, Littlestown

Giuliana Crespo, Macungie; Josiah M. Daniel, Macungie; Abigail Arnold, Mechanicsburg; MacKenzie Arnold, Mechanicsburg; Ava Nicole Anthony, Mercersburg; Isabel Corica, Monessen; Ronnie Dion, Monroeville; Edward Cornelius, Mountain Top; Owen Doyle, New Brighton; Anna Walton, Norristown; Devan Tophoney, Northampton; Abigail Pfander, Pennsburg; Brianna Arce, Philadelphia; Fadila Sibay, Philadelphia; Kamorae Temple-Martin, Philadelphia; Liam Pease, Philadelphia; Yamen Zidan, Philadelphia; Sayf Farooq, Pittsburgh; Sarah Anderson, Reading; Lacy Kendall, Riddlesburg; Riley Nemoseck, Rostraver Township; Ayden Gerlach, Slippery Rock; Jaymin Willis, Spartansburg; Kyleigh Richmond, Tunkhannock; Addison Pandolph, Union City; Sophia N. Bendishaw, Uniontown; Veronica Flanagan, Vandergrift; Richard Dmitry Malstrom, Venetia; Amber Kingsbury, Verona; Emily Sudul, Warren; Nathaniel Barr, Warriors Mark; Ethan Hardway, Washington; Liam Brewer, Washington; Jalen M. Soeung, Wyomissing; and, Landon Williams, York


Media Contact

Casie Colalella /

About PA Cyber

Serving students in kindergarten through 12th grade, the Pennsylvania Cyber Charter School (PA Cyber) is one of the largest, most experienced, and most successful online public schools in the nation. PA Cyber's online learning environments, personalized instructional methods, and choices of curricula connect Pennsylvania students and their families with state-certified and highly-qualified teachers, and rich academic content that is aligned to state standards. Founded in 2000, PA Cyber is headquartered in Midland (Beaver County) and maintains a network of support offices throughout the state. As a public school, PA Cyber is open for enrollment by any school-age child residing in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, and does not charge tuition to students or families.